Bulletin Vol. 5 No. 9 Jul–Aug 1969

T H E C H I N E S E U N I V E R S I T Y O F H O N G K O N G T H E U N I V E R S I T Y BULLETIN V O L U ME F I V E • J U L Y - A U G U S T 1 9 6 9 • N U M B E R N I NE C O N T E N T S Page Asian Workshop on Higher Education . . 1 A S A I HL Seminar 2 New President of Ne w Asia College and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University —D r . Y . T. Shen 4 Academic Planning Committee . . . . 4 New University Bursar's Office . . . . 5 Commemorative Stamp for the University 5 Reader's Digest Scholarshi p 5 University Publications . . . . . . . . 5 Mathematics Symposium 6 The Vice-Chancellor addresses the Joint School Science Exhibition 6 Examination News 7 Government Representation on C U H K Committee 8 Personalia 8 Staff Profiles 9 Comings and Goings 10 College News 12 ASIAN WORKSHOP ON HIGHER EDUCATION The Asian Workshop on Higher Education, the first educational conference of its kind to be held in Asia, was opened by His Excellency the Governor Sir David Trench on 18th August, 1969 at the Benjamin Franklin Centre of this University. Dr. Choh-Ming Li, Vice-Chancellor of the University, was elected to serve as Director of the Wo r k shop . He appointed Prof. S.S. Hsueh, Professor of Government and Publi c Administration of the University faculty, as Associate Director. "A New Man for a New Society: Universities and Colleges as Agents of Change "was chosen as the theme for consideratio n by workshop participants at sessions conducted over the two-week period from 18th through 30th of August. M r. Tarlok Singh, a distinguished scholar, author, economist and administrator, defined this theme on opening day in his key-note speech entitled "Modernization and Educational Policy". In subsequent workshop meetings, various aspects of the theme were explored through the medium of lectures and seminars. Discussions were purposely kept open and informal to facilitate a genuine sharing of insight and experience among the 100 scholars and administrators from universities and colleges in India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea , Malaysia, Philippines, Ryu-Kyu Islands, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong. Members of the Planning Committee of the Workshop were: Dr. J.W. Airan (India), Dr. John M . Bevan, Chairman ( U . S . A . ) , D r. Cicero D. Calderon (Philippines), Dr. Kiyoko T. Cho (Japan), Dr. Choh-Ming L i (Hong Kong), Dr. Samuel H. Magill (U.S.A.), Dr. O . Natohamidjojo (Indonesia), Dr. Tae Sun Park (Korea), Mr. Kentaro Shiozuki (Japan), Dr. Eva I. Shipstone (India), Dr. Amr ik Singh (India), Dr. Ma r k Thelin (Taiwan), Miss Margaret Valadian (Australia), an d Dr. Augusto Tenmatay (Philippines). Participants from this University were: Dr. Choh-Ming L i, Vice-Chancello r Dr. Y . T. Shen, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University and President o f New Asia College