Bulletin No. 2, 2020

Foundation Stone Laid for Wu Yee Sun College   39  T he Foundation Stone Laying Ceremony of Wu Yee Sun College, one of the five new Colleges, was held on 9 June 2010, to officially kick off the construction of the College. The ceremony was officiated by Mr. Albert P.C. Wu (2nd left), director of Wu Yee Sun Charitable Foundation Limited and member of the Planning Committee for Wu Yee Sun College; Mr. Arthur Wu (2nd right), member of the Planning Committee for Wu Yee Sun College; Prof. Lawrence J. Lau (1st left), then Vice-Chancellor of CUHK; and Prof. Rance P.L. Lee (1st right), Master-Designate of Wu Yee Sun College. About a hundred members of the University and supporters of the College attended the ceremony. ‘I am certain the students of Wu Yee Sun College will uphold the College motto of “Scholarship and Perseverance” in their academic pursuits, and contribute what they have learnt to ser ve the communit y,’ remarked Prof. Lawrence J. Lau at the ceremony. Wu Yee Sun College was established with a generous donation from Wu Yee Sun Charitable Foundation Limited. The late Dr. Wu Yee-sun, a staunch supporter of education and an eminent philanthropist, was a benefactor of CUHK. In 1973, he and his brother donated HK$1 million to CUHK for the establishment of the Wing Lung Bank Chinese Culture Development Fund to support research and publication projects of the Institute of Chinese Studies. In the true philanthropic spirit of Dr. Wu, the foundation pledged a major donation to CUHK in 2007 for the establishment of a new College, which was named after him as Wu Yee Sun College. The College will provide board and lodging facilities for 600 students, and appropriate facilities and services for up to 600 non-residential students. It is expected to admit its first cohort of students in the 2012–13 academic year.