Calendar 2000–01

Incorporated in October 1963 under a Hong Kong Ordinance, The Chinese University of Hong Kong is a bilingual (Chinese and English) and bicultural institution of higher learning. Its objectives are to (i) assist in the preservation, dissemination, communication, and increase of knowledge; (ii) provide regular courses of instruction in the humanities, the sciences, and other branches of learning of a standard required and expected of a university of the highest standing; and (iii) stimulate the intellectual and cultural development of Hong Kong and thereby assist in promoting its economic and social welfare. The University has its origin in three post-secondary colleges: New Asia College (founded 1949), Chung Chi College (founded 1951), and The United College of Hong Kong (founded 1956). In December 1976 a new ordinance was enacted, making important changes in the constitution governing the University and its constituent colleges. An ordinance for the fourth college was enacted in July 1986, and the new college — Shaw College — became operational in 1988. The University is a self-governing corporation drawing its income mainly from grants made by the government, supplemented by fees and donations from private sources. The governing and executive body of the University is the Council, which has the management and control of the affairs, purposes, and functions of the University. The Senate has the control and regulation of instruction, education, and research. A wide range of full-time undergraduate programmes leading to the BA, BBA, BChiMed, BEd, BEng, BMedSc, MB ChB, BNurs, BPharm, BSc and BSSc degrees are offered by various departments under the faculties of arts, business administration, education, engineering, medicine, science, and social science. There are four part-time degree programmes leading to the degrees of BA, BEd and BNurs. Postgraduate programmes leading to the degrees of DMus, EdD, PhD, MA, MAcc, MArch, MBA, MChiMed, MClinPharm, MDiv, MEd, MFA, MMid, MMus, MNurs, MPH, MPhil, MSc, MSSc, MSW, and to eight diplomas are offered by the Graduate School through its 47 graduate divisions and four graduate boards. Since its inception, the University has adopted bilingualism and biculturalism as the basis of its teaching, giving equal emphasis to both Chinese and English languages and Eastern and Western cultures. The majority of the teaching staff I ntroduction