Calendar 2003–04

Introduction 1 Incorporated in October 1963 under a Hong Kong Ordinance, The Chinese University of Hong Kong is a bilingual and bicultural institution of higher learning. Its objectives are to (i) assist in the preservation, dissemination, communication, and increase of knowledge; (ii) provide regular courses of instruction in the humanities, the sciences, and other branches of learning of a standard required and expected of a university of the highest standing; and (iii) stimulate the intellectual and cultural development of Hong Kong and thereby assist in promoting its economic and social welfare. The University has its origin in three post-secondary colleges: New Asia College (founded 1949), Chung Chi College (founded 1951), and The United College of Hong Kong (founded 1956). In December 1976 a new ordinance was enacted, making important changes in the constitution governing the University and its constituent colleges. An ordinance for the fourth college was enacted in July 1986, and the new college — Shaw College — became operational in 1988. The University is a self-governing corporation drawing its income mainly from grants made by the government, supplemented by fees and donations from private sources. The governing and executive body of the University is the Council, in which is vested the management and control of the affairs, purposes, and functions of the University. The Senate controls and regulates instruction, education, and research. The faculties advise the Senate through the faculty boards on the programmes of studies recommended by the departments, who are responsible for subject- oriented teaching. The colleges, in turn, are responsible for student-orientated teaching, and the provision of residential accommodation. Teaching staff and full-time undergraduate students are assigned to different constituent colleges. A wide range of full-time undergraduate programmes leading to the BA, BBA, BChiMed, BEd, BEng, BMedSc, MB ChB, BNurs, BPharm, BSc and BSSc degrees are offered by various departments under the faculties of arts, business administration, education, engineering, medicine, science, and social science. There are two part-time degree programmes leading to the degrees of BA and BEd. Postgraduate programmes leading to the degrees of DMus, EdD, PhD, MA, MAcc, MArch, MBA, MChiMed, MClinPharm, MDiv, MEd, MFA, MFM, I ntroduction