Calendar 2003–04

64 Par The Ordinance In November 1975, the Governor of Hong Kong, in his capacity as Chancellor of the University, appointed an external commission to review the constitutional arrangements governing the University and its constituent colleges. Lord Fulton of Falmer was again invited to serve as chairman of the commission. The second Fulton Report was submitted to the Chancellor in March 1976 and published in May. The Report recommended important changes to the constitutional arrangements governing the University and the colleges. Under the new arrangements proposed by the commission, the University would be responsible for academic and development policy, financial management, the matriculation of students, the appointment of staff, the determination of the curriculum, the conduct of examinations, and the award of degrees. The participation of senior academics in the governing bodies of the University would be strengthened. In addition, the Report recommended that the University should strive to strike a balance between ‘subject-orientated’ teaching and small group ‘student-orientated’ teaching, and that the latter should be entrusted to the colleges. This ‘student-orientated’ teaching would be designed to build in the students habits and frames of mind required of experts in their chosen fields and to equip them with the necessary skills for meeting new challenges in a rapidly changing world. A new ordinance to give effect to the recommendations in the second Fulton Report was enacted in December 1976. In 1986 the University received a generous donation from the Shaw Foundation (Hong Kong ) Ltd. for the specific purpose of establishing a fourth college, Shaw College. The Ordinance and the Statutes were further revised to provide for its establishment, and it began admitting students in September 1988. The Ordinance and the Statutes of the University incorporating the amendments over the years are printed in Part 7 of this Calendar . Academic Structure and Policy The Chinese University of Hong Kong is a growing university offering a wide range of full-time and part-time programmes which lead to bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and doctorates. There are seven faculties (arts, business administration, education, engineering, medicine, science, and social science) and 61 departments offering 53 major programmes and 37 minor programmes for full-time undergraduate students, and two part-time undergraduate programmes for part-time students. Postgraduate programmes including 62 doctoral programmes, 135 master’s programmes, and 12 diploma programmes are offered by the Graduate School through its 55 graduate divisions. The Senate has control over instruction and research. The faculties advise the Senate through the faculty boards on the programmes of study recommended by the departments, who are responsible for subject-orientated teaching. The