Bulletin Autumn‧Winter 1981

Twenty-Third Congregation The University held its Twenty-Third Congregation for the conferment of honorary and other degrees on 3rd December, 1981 at the University Mall. His Excellency the Chancellor of the University, Sir Murray MacLehose, presided at the ceremony. Four distinguished persons were awarded the honorary doctoral degrees by the University: Professor Cheng Te-k'un, a world-renowned Chinese archaeologist and former Professor of Fine Arts and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University, was awarded the degree of Doctor of Literature, honoris causa; Professor A.L. Cullen, Emeritus Professor of the University of London and Senior Fellow of the Science Research Council, U.K., was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa; Professor Yuet Wai Kan, a pioneer in developing methods to detect sickle-cell anemai in unborn infants, Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco, and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Laboratory, San Francisco, U.S.A., was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa ; and Sir Run Run Shaw, a member o f the University Council , President of the Shaw Brothers (HK) Ltd., Chairman of the Hong Kong Television Broadcasts Ltd. and Managing Director of over 40 local and overseas companies, was awarded the degree of Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa. Professor Cheng Te-k'un addressed the Congregation on behalf of the honorary graduates. The Public Orator was Professor G.H. Choa, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Pro-Vice- Chancellor of the University. This year, 1,196 graduates obtained their Master's and Bachelor's degrees, including 43 Masters of Philosophy, 70 Masters of Business Administration, 2 Masters of Social Work, 1 Master of Arts, 8 Masters of Arts (Education), 259 Bachelors of Arts, 250 Bachelors of Business Administration, 268 Bachelors of Science and 295 Bachelors of Social Science. 1