Calendar 2007–08

18 Part 1 • General Information Part 1 With the reorganization of the University following the enactment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance 1976, the Boards of Trustees of the three original Colleges, viz. Chung Chi College, New Asia College, and The United College of Hong Kong, were reconstituted. Each College board is mainly concerned with the management of the movable property and of certain College buildings entrusted to it, as well as the promotion of scholastic and cultural activities of the College. Each College is governed by anAssembly of Fellows chaired by the College Head, and this assembly is responsible for making and implementing decisions on various matters relating to the College. In January 1986 the University received a generous donation of HK$100 million, and subsequently an additional gift of HK$10 million, from the Shaw Foundation (Hong Kong) Ltd. for the establishment of a fourth College in the University. The University Council subsequently decided that the new College be named ‘Shaw College’ and invited Sir Run Run Shaw to be its patron. To give legal effect to such a development, ‘The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Declaration of Shaw College) Ordinance 1986’was enacted in July 1986. Shaw College admitted its first students in 1988. CUHK takes great pride in its unique collegiate system, and sees a need to enhance the system in anticipation of the surge in undergraduate enrolment in 2012 when the University reverts to a normative four-year curriculum. The University has plans to establish new Colleges that are relatively small and fully residential, with communal dining facilities for its students and faculty members. These Colleges can help to promote close interaction among faculty and students, and provide quality pastoral care and whole-person education. In 2006, the University received with gratitude generous donations of HK$100 million from the Morningside Foundation and Morningside Education Foundation Ltd., and HK$170 million from the S.H. Ho Foundation Ltd. in support of the visions to bring these plans to fruition. In May the same year, the University Council endorsed the establishing of two new Colleges and named them respectively as the Morningside College and the S.H. Ho College. In May 2007, the University Council approved plans towards the formation T he Constituent Colleges