Newsletter No. 500

130 Part 3 • Academic Units and University Extensions Part 3 of 23 higher diploma programmes, spanning across six disciplines, including art and design, business and management, information technology, languages and communication, social sciences and public administration, and health care. SCS also offers tailored corporate training courses to private companies, government departments, and voluntary organizations in Hong Kong and mainland China. They aim at improving participants’knowledge and skills in both English and Chinese, information technology, secretarial studies, China business, administrative management, school management, journalism, accounting, law and public administration, etc. Commendations have been received on both the course design and academic standard of these courses. SCS is a self-financing unit but its academic development and policies are regulated by the University Extension Board, the Senate Academic Planning Committee, and the Senate of the University. The head office of SCS is situated at the Inter-university Hall on CUHK campus in Shatin. SCS has four major learning centres in the city, respectively located at Oriental Centre at 67 ChathamRoad in Tsimshatsui, East Ocean Centre at 98 Granville Road in Tsimshatsui East, 90AShantung Street in Mongkok, and Bank of America Tower at 12 Harcourt Road in Central.