Calendar 2000–01

and/or business development. The course provides a sound background in chemistry together with knowledge in chemical industry and management science. Postgraduate programmes are research oriented, stressing discovery and creativity. Equipped with modern facilities and staffed by a team of devoted teachers who are active in research, the department is internationally known as a centre of excellence in chemistry. Tel.: 2609 8131 Fax.: 2603 7203 The School of Chinese Medicine offers a five-year programme leading to a Bachelor of Chinese Medicine degree, with the aim of providing professional training in modern Chinese medicine. To date one of the two full-time undergraduate educational programmes in Hong Kong dedicated to Chinese medicine, this programme integrates modern medical knowledge with traditional approaches in Chinese medicine. It includes three years of pre-clinical study, one year of clinical training, and one year of supervised practice. Upon graduation, graduates have to pass the registration requirements before they can be registered as a Chinese medicine practitioner. The school also offers graduate programmes leading to master degrees. The school actively engages in research activities focussing on the development of Chinese medicinal materials and the scientific validation of traditional medical theories. Tel.: 2609 7729 Fax.: 2603 5154 E-mail: The department offers both major and minor programmes to provide students with a solid foundation in mathematics at the undergraduate level. Students can choose to specialize in one of the three streams: the mathematics stream, the computational and applied mathematics stream, or the enrichment stream. Staff members engage in a wide range of research, including numerical analysis, optimization theory, algebra, number theory, topology, geometry, differential equations, non-linear waves, functional analysis, harmonic analysis, fractals and wavelets. Tel.: 2609 6339 Fax.: 2603 5204 E-mail: The undergraduate programme in physics leading to the BSc degree was introduced in 1963 with the founding of the University. A solid curriculum has since evolved with three streams of specialization: physics, applied physics, and computational physics. Research programmes leading to the MPhil and PhD